Tuesday, March 11, 2008

Masterton Nominees have a Capital look

James Mirtle reports that 16 teams have announed their nominees for the Masterton Trophy. According to NHL.com:
The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is an annual award under the trusteeship of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association and is given to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. The winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season.
As Mirtle reports, the nominees are:

Boston - Glen Metropolit
Buffalo - Paul Gaustad
Calgary - Owen Nolan
Carolina - Glen Wesley
Colorado - Andrew Brunette
Detroit - Chris Chelios
New Jersey - Colin White
N.Y. Islanders - Brendan Witt
Ottawa - Luke Richardson
Philadelphia - Jim Dowd
Pittsburgh - Ty Conklin
St. Louis - Manny Legace
Toronto - Jason Blake
Vancouver - Trevor Linden

As you can see (in bold) four of the 16 nominees to date have spent time in our part of the world. Congratulations to all the nominees announced thus far.

The only standings you'll ever need

As we head into the final stretch, here it is, boiled down...

Place yer bets, place yer bets...