Friday, June 13, 2008

Stars of Stars

The NHL all star and all-rookie teams also were announced yesterday.

Nicklas Backstrom, who finished second in the Calder Trophy voting for rookie-of-the-year, was selected to the first all-rookie team.

Alex Ovechkin was selected to the first all-NHL team for the third time in his first three years in the league. He is the first player since Terry Sawchuk (1950-51 through 1953-53) to be so honored. He is the first skater in the history of the NHL to be selected to the first all-star team in his first three full seasons. Here are the teams:

2007-2008 NHL First All-Star Team

G Evgeni Nabokov, San Jose Sharks
D Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
D Dion Phaneuf, Calgary Flames
C Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins
RW Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
LW Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

2007-2008 NHL Second All-Star Team

G Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils
D Brian Campbell, San Jose Sharks
D Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
C Joe Thornton, San Jose Sharks
RW Alex Kovalev, Montreal Canadiens
LW Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings

2007-2008 NHL All-Rookie Team

G Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens
D Tobias Enstrom, Atlanta Thrashers
D Tom Gilbert, Edmonton Oilers
F Nicklas Backstrom, Washington Capitals
F Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
F Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

Congratulations to all...

photo: Jim McIsaac/Getty Images

Home Team Depot

What a haul of hardware. The Capitals announced once more that they will be a team to be reckoned with in the years to come as they exited the NHL awards ceremony with five of the six major awards for which Caps were finalists (two -- the Ross and the Richard -- already belonged to Alex Ovechkin by virture of his leading the league in overall and goal scoring).

Only Nicklas Backstrom -- for the Calder Trophy -- was shutout, and one wonders if he wouldn't have won if his full 82-game results were like his last 61 (that is, after Bruce "Adams" Boudreau was behind the bench for all of it). For those keeping score -- and we do -- his last 61 games were a 17-63-80, +24 pace. But, for the record, here are your winners:

Hart Memorial Trophy
(most valuable player)

Alex Ovechkin

Lester B. Pearson Award
(outstanding player)

Alex Ovechkin

Art Ross Trophy
(top scorer)

Alex Ovechkin

Maurice Richard Trophy
(top goal scorer)

Alex Ovechkin

Jack Adams Award
(top coach)

Bruce Boudreau

photos: Getty Images